Tags

I was delighted to be asked to capture some portraits of a gal and her Saint Bernard, Levi.  I’m a huge animal lover and anytime I can capture some bonding moments between a human and their animal companion, it makes my heart all warm and fuzzy.

Levi had just gone for a biopsy on his hind leg after the vet suspected cancer.  Oh ya, the C word.  So the shoot was bittersweet.  Levi with all four legs and his mama doing her best to have the swelling gone around her eyes from crying.
The shoot tugged at my heartstrings. Watching Levi, with his largeness, cuddle up with his mama on the grass, sitting pretty for photo after photo. He was just the coolest dog.

Mama held it together and knew by the look on my face that I would have some amazing shots to present to her. I cannot thank the universe enough for granting us all that day, weatherwise, energy wise for Levi and doggie-mama for her brave spirit in such a dark time in her life.

At just four years, Levi was much too young to be in this position. Facing the loss of a beloved animal companion is never easy, whether young or old. It wasn’t fair.  It never is.

July came and went. Levi had his leg amputated. The vet advised his mama that the outcome was not bright. It was an aggressive cancer. I blogged a bit about it after I visited his mama with her print order.
Levi adjusted seemingly well to his life on three legs. Life on the farm went back to some normalcy. He was such an amazing dog. He wanted to keep up with the other big dogs.
Chemo was scheduled. First round. Second round and then, poof, Levi crossed the rainbow bridge suddenly.

It is with great sadness to share that Levi has crossed the Rainbow Bridge.

5296 BLOG Levi poem

http://www.petloss.com/poems/maingrp/rainbowb.htm